SFUSD: For the parents living in San Francisco



What is SFSUD? 


The San Francisco Unified School District (SFUSD) is the seventh largest school district in California, educating over 57,000 students every year. San Francisco is both a city and a county; therefore, SFUSD administers both the school district and the San Francisco County Office of Education (COE). This makes SFUSD a “single district county.” SFUSD is governed by an elected seven-member Board of Education.


Their Mission Statement
The mission of the San Francisco Unified School District is to provide each student with an equal opportunity to succeed by promoting intellectual growth, creativity, self-discipline, cultural and linguistic sensitivity, democratic responsibility, economic competence, and physical and mental health so that each student can achieve his or her maximum potential.


Their Current Accredited Schools


64 elementary schools (K-5)
8 alternatively configured schools (K-8)
13 middle schools(6-8)
19 high schools (9-12)
16 transitional kindergarten schools
13 active charter schools authorized by the district


Whether its early education or high school, you can count on an SFUSD to have a numerous options for accredited schools- all of which uphold a high standard in your child’s rigorous education and student achievement.



Posted by: Rebecca White on